Twitter has introduced its latest tool to deal with harassment on its platform. The social network will restrict the reach of users it believes are partaking in abusive behavior.
Over the past few days, a number of Twitter users have reported getting warning messages from the company
saying: “We’ve temporarily limited some of your account features.” The warnings come with a time period during which the restriction will be applied, a time that appears to be set at 12 hours in most cases.
The new protocol, which started being put into effect last week, will prevent tweets from users deemed to be abusing the platform from being seen by people who don’t follow them. The tweets won’t appear in searches, Moments, or anywhere else on the platform other than their own timeline.
If a restricted user mentions someone who doesn’t follow them, that person won’t see the tweet or receive a notification about it. Retweets of abusive users from followers won’t appear to people who don’t follow the punished user.
When a user is hit with the restriction, they are alerted via email from Twitter that informs them that some features of their Twitter experience have been disabled. “We’ve detected some potentially abusive behavior from your account, so only your followers can see your activity on Twitter for the amount of time shown below,” the email reads.
The new throttling protocol is part of Twitter’s ongoing battle with abuse that takes place on its site.